Word Play

Just some quick little tips I stumbled upon recently:

Wordle is a program that seemingly has only one purpose – to look cool. But I think it has more potential than that.

While it is definitely a fun program to play with and an easy way to create interesting digital art, I feel it could also be very a useful marketing aid.

Basically, the more frequently you use a word, the larger it appears in the image. Uses for this are 2-fold:

1) It tells me what keywords I should be using on the tags
2) It shows me the “message” of the copy I just created. It’s a quick and easy (and pretty) way to see if my writing is emphasizing what I want it to.

Here are some examples created using our own Blog copy:

GoLeads Wordle

 

Wordle 2 

 

All in all a great tool.

Second cool tool for the day: http://namechk.com. A great way for a Small Business to check the availability of their handle(name) on the primary social sites.

Again, dual purpose:
1) Check to ensure your name is not taken, then go register them.
2) It exposed me to quite a few sites that I didn’t even know existed. A great way to open up to an extensive social media world beyond Twitter and Facebook.

Hope you guys find these as useful and fun as I do!

Leave a comment

Filed under GoLeads, marketing, Misc., Social Marketing

Leave a Reply

